Bitch on the Blog

February 6, 2010

The L factor

Filed under: Despair,Happiness,language,Uncategorized — bitchontheblog @ 08:07

Sweethearts, a new addition to my exclusive fan club comes in the shape of an L. Ron Hubbard – being the twin of one of my hardcore followers.

He appears to be speaking from beyond the grave (L. Ron Hubbard died in 1986). Info for the curious: The L. stands for Lafayette. Lovely sound, gorgeous name, also houses many art treasures [Lafayette Galleries, Boulevard Haussmann, Paris].

I don’t mind communicating with anyone, including the dead. Though by virtue of their being dead they don’t have much to say unless they wrote it down and published it before going to their grave. What is alarming, and in truth all I know about it comes via Tom Cruise, is L. Ron Hubbard’s devotion to that which shall remain unnamed – even on my blog where anything goes. It gives me the creeps. Why make a possibly good intial idea into yet another “religion”? For God’s sake! Nothing is cast in stone. Not that Moses would agree with me: The poor guy had to carry the tablet and then shout it from the top of the mountain.

Dear Lafayette R. Hubbard: Watson to my Sherlock has told me all there is to know. Incidentally, I live a stone throw away from Arthur Canon Doyle’s grave. I hope the above being most satisfactory to you in its diversion away from apostrophes. You might also wish to look up the true meaning of the word ‘semantics’ which – according to one of the comments you left – you appear to think I concentrate on beyond all else. Hint: “Semantics” have nothing to do with spelling, all to do with meaning.

As to being “pompous”, a compliment you so most charmingly returned to me: Why not? If you and I weren’t [pompous] then who would? Pomposity does not wish to go the way of dinosaurs.

Mwah

2 Comments »

  1. Speaking of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, I just finished reading (listening to) his THE LOST WORLD. The main character was a professor at Uppsala University. Small world. I went there to learn Swedish. My daughter lives in Sweden. Learning Swedish-hopeless.

    Comment by bikehikebabe — February 6, 2010 @ 16:20 | Reply

    • Yes, Bike Hike Babe, unless you are cast there (like your daughter) some languages are just not worth the pain.

      It’s one thing to be able order a beer, another to get into the underbelly of a language, the subtleties. My mother has an affinity with Sweden and, when young, worked there for a while; presumably looking for her ideal of a tall blue eyed blond Viking. Instead of which she fell for my father – black hair and brown eyes. I made up for her loss years later by providing her, yes you guessed it, with a blue eyed platinum blond son-in-law. He is English though is often assumed to be either Dutch, Swedish or German.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 6, 2010 @ 20:52 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

