Bitch on the Blog

March 2, 2010

Flip side

 

The above is plastered – in a prominent place – on a wall in my study. It was designed to keep up British morale on the eve of the second world war; and has the royal sign of approval – a crown – courtesy of King George VI. Apparently the well intentioned poster didn’t make much of a public appearance at the time;  the original rediscovered about ten years ago. And not a minute too soon – for my purposes.

Though, as the TV advert says: “Lose control and flap about” . That’s why I adore a real crisis. I keep calm and carry on. Give me an average day and I lose control and flop about. Those are the days I make lists. I love lists. They satisfy my hankering after that most futile order, my dormant penchant for perfectionism; they nurture my hope that I’ll still be around tomorrow. After all, you wouldn’t want to leave behind a list as yet to be ticked off, would you?

Considering my backlog I shall have to live till I am overripe. Like one of those apples you find on the ground in autumn, having fallen off the tree some time ago, pecked by birds and in advance state of fermentation making bees bumble about in drunken stupor.

U

7 Comments »

  1. The sign I had posted said, SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY, SIMPLIFY. That included all my stuff, my life i.e. all that I did.

    As for the list, my LIST had 30 possibilities, & on a good day I’d get 4 done. That was in the “olden days” (as my daughter, when young, referred to my youth.)

    Now my list is 30 exercises I MUST so everyday for maintenance.
    But the powerful feeling of exhilarating SUCCESS can’t be beat, when I cross off one exercise (or job) from my list!

    Comment by bikehikebabe — March 2, 2010 @ 15:56 | Reply

  2. Corporal Jones comes to mind! “Don’t panic!”

    Keeping calm is one of my fortes, it goes with burying my head under my arm. I love it because it infuriates others at times.
    When we were due for our first Ofsted inspection at school I just couldn’t have cared less…I wa set to tidy up a large plan cupboard full (haven’t seen one yet) full of posters. I was working with Jacqui, who is exactly one year older than me. I stood up to stretch my back and turned to her and said,”I really cannot get myself into a flap about this inspection.”
    “We have ALL noticed that.” came the reply. “Why?”
    ” The week my mother died I was being inspected by three inspectors as part of the National Primary survey. I was the only one in the school, in fact the whole Authority, being inspected. Why should i worry about this lot?”

    It didn’t help the rest of the staff…they still wet into a blue funk. And continued to do so every inspepction afterwards.

    No..why panic? It only leads to extra stress and just living causes enough of that.

    Tell me, where can I get a copy of the poster?

    Comment by Magpie11 — March 3, 2010 @ 13:53 | Reply

  3. My husband is like you, Magpie the 11th. I’m like Ursula.

    I just found out why, from an email I got from a grade through high school friend, who lives 2,000 miles away. I was complaining that Tom says something that is so totally “wrong” & remains firm & calm through the “discussion-ha”.

    She sent: Sounds like an attorney…. I was the daughter of one, the wife of one, and the mother of one! I never win an argument!!! LOVE

    That was my light bulb moment! We’ve been married 53 years & I never figured this out. His father died when he was 8, his mother pregnant, so they moved into her parent’s home where she grew up. His grandfather became the father figure & he was a lawyer & federal judge. That explains Tom.

    Comment by bikehikebabe — March 3, 2010 @ 15:31 | Reply

    • Bike Hike Babe, you have not so much opened a can of worms with your observation as released a chamber of people wearing wigs; sparse of words outside their brief.

      53 years? You have done your time. Lucky Tom.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — March 3, 2010 @ 17:49 | Reply

  4. Actually Tom sees all viewpoints & doesn’t have opinions.

    I have an opinion. The discussion (battle) begins when I try to prove my point, but he “wins” with another viewpoint.

    I’m not going to fall in that trap again–knock,knock. (In American that means “knock on wood” or “hope this doesn’t happen”. (probably an English expression).

    Comment by bikehikebabe — March 3, 2010 @ 20:08 | Reply

  5. Hello BHB…. Oh I have opinions and am not averse to expressing them and getting irate about things but there are situations where it just does no good to panic…. or getting worked up.

    My sons gave me a poker-work key fob several years ago. It read, “I may not always be right but I am never wrong.” It was like a punch in the face…. I changed quite a bit after that. It was how I had always felt about my own father…. he would brook no argument on anything. Mind you I learned from him and never feared admitting that I was wrong (provided I was convinced by evidence etc. that I was) and I never feared saying “I don’t know.” as a teacher.

    I guess I’m a mixture.

    As a corollary (is that correct?) to the Ofsted story… I would ask the inspector to join in with lessons… most would. One said that the history lesson she had just joined in with was one of the best she’d ever been in. I also told one inspector , after the lesson, ” I’m not a failing teacher, just a failing filing clerk.” It got a big laugh and, “We’ve noticed!”

    Comment by Magpie11 — March 4, 2010 @ 13:05 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

