Bitch on the Blog

May 5, 2010

Elusive

Filed under: Despair,Fairy Tales,Happiness — bitchontheblog @ 02:43
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s three in the morning and I have just woken. Yes, I KNOW it’s the sort of newsworthy stuff that should go on Twitter and leave your friends yawning.

However, and before I answer three excellent comments to my last mind-blowingly profound post, I have to divest myself of what I have just learnt (source BBC): Lack of sleep has potential to shorten your life. Which is regrettable since I like living. Neither can I pass on to my mother – who has a knack for sleeping unrivalled – that more than nine hours might contribute to her premature demise. She wouldn’t like it and probably toss and turn all night worrying. Worry, naturally, no doubt, also contributing to going to an early grave. You can’t win, can you? One way or another the old tosser will get you. It’s like playing chess with someone you know is most likely to make your king abdicate (two hours in): You’ll still agree to play, indeed give it your best shot instead of  conceding defeat immediately; anyway, you do want to give those pawns chance to fulfill their destiny by being mowed down serving their queen.

That’s what’s so great about lack of sleep: Clarity is lost. You start on one subject, the next you are talking about chess. Then like Hansel and Gretel trying to find their way out of the woods all the breadcrumbs have gone. Wouldn’t have happened to clever Ariadne.

The upshot being: Whether sleeping too little or too much,  living really is a minefield. As my father once observed (at a time when I was still easily impressed): “Life is dangerous. It usually ends by snuffing it.”

U

3 Comments »

  1. Tom goes to sleep soon after he hits the pillow. I lay there clutching the covers (dubai ?), gritting my teeth, staring at the ceiling, saying, “GO TO SLEEP, GO TO SLEEP, GO TO SLEEP!”

    I put in ear plugs & put on a sleep mask. When that doesn’t work, it doesn’t, I use earphones & listen to a Book on CDs. That works. That way my racing mind forgets-what I did today, what I’ll do tomorrow & a million other things.

    My daughter says some people (normal ones I guess) turn their minds off. -‘How’s that?’- “They think BLUE.” (You can think PINK if you like that better.)

    Comment by bikehikebabe — May 5, 2010 @ 14:18 | Reply

  2. Oh, go on someone has to say it…
    To sleep: perchance to dream:

    Noooooo! My dreams are so bad…disturbing and disturbed…Last night the wife’s boy friend tried to convince me he is Gay! He even tried to convince her! Well I think it was my wife.

    I have a horrible habit of falling asleep almost anywhere, particularly on transport. One reason for not driving don’t you think? I can sleep standing up, well leaning against a lamppost … which is why I always missed that certain little lady…

    But in bed? I have to make my eyes and brain tired by reading a book or technical magazine.

    Midday will often find me sound asleep on the living room floor and when teaching I would get in to school early, get the bits and pieces done and then often spend the half hour before the bell snoozing on the class room floor. Several times I have been woken by a panicking colleague shaking me and saying,”Are you all rigth?” an don one memorable occasion “Oh! I hope he’s not dead.”

    bed time sleep is a problem sometimes but I can make up for it at other times.

    Comment by magpie11 — May 5, 2010 @ 19:32 | Reply

  3. Oh, what glee for the students to come to class & find their teacher passed out on the floor.

    Comment by bikehikebabe — May 5, 2010 @ 19:47 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

