Bitch on the Blog

May 6, 2010

Pissed off big time

It’s getting worse. What date is it today? 6th of May?  I don’t know. Normally my nemesis is the month of November.

Displacement activity has now reached levels hitherto unknown, even to me. Drowning couldn’t be worse. Still, not to keep the happiness and self help book industry in quagmire must keep smiling in face of shit hitting the fan evenly covering all the magnolia in my life. In the olden days they called it ‘denial’.  I am falling down a hole and with no one in sight to lend me a hand I, like the mad baron, will have to pull myself out of the morast by my own hair. Newton would  have had to say something about probability of that. No matter: Everything will be just fine. Pull the other one.

U

4 Comments »

  1. Good luck! “morast”? If you’re really stuck in the morass have you considered getting professional help?

    Comment by Cheerful Monk — May 6, 2010 @ 05:26 | Reply

    • Jean, thanks for correcting my spelling. Muen(U Umlaut)chhausen, by dint of his homeland, pulled himself out of the ‘morast’. Another one I consistently get ‘wrong’ is phantastic instead of fantastic.

      In wake of your comment I googled what might come up under Muenchhausen for the unintiated (no disrespect to Americans) – it’s nothing to do with illness, personal or by proxy. The story, as I was told when a child, was that Munchhausen stepped into something akin to the Dartford Moors, SANK, and, just in time, pulled himself out again by his own hair – a feat seemingly impossible but one I have managed many a time in my life. Not that it makes you friends amongst those who’d love to see you sink without trace; particularly those who like nothing better than “helping” you. Not of course that they ever ask HOW they might help you. Over the last eighteen months I have had so much ‘help’, as defined by the ‘helpers’, it’s nearly destroyed me.

      I am walking a very fine line at the moment. Let’s hope I won’t fall off it.

      You recommend professional help. No doubt valuable if administered by the right hand. Unfortunately the quagmire I am in is such that it cannot be talked away. In the words of the Californian Polyanna in my life (about 18 months ago): “If I were in your situation I’d probably kill myself.” It’s one way of solving the problem. Not my style.

      U

      Comment by Ursula — May 6, 2010 @ 09:46 | Reply

  2. The Marvellous Adventures of Baron Münchhausen….. I have never read it myself but we had a teacher at school who went on about both the 18th Century book and the silent film ….. I don’t think the actual Baron was very enamoured of many of the stories in the book.

    I always thought that he pulled himself out of a Russian bog by his bootlaces. Hence, the idiom “pulling yourself up by your own bootlaces”…ha ha…all very well for some to say but a little help can often make things easier.

    Listening to Woman’s Hour whilst cleaning the bathroom I heard someone saying that she gave up spending money on Therapists who just sat and listened so she took to talking to a tape recorder and listening to herself. Apparently it worked.

    Comment by magpie11 — May 6, 2010 @ 09:56 | Reply

    • Quote Magpie “… the actual Baron was [not] enamoured of many stories of the book”. Neither would I.

      It’s an excellent point you make taking a detour via the genre of biographies. I love biographies, getting a glimpse of another’s life; how their upbringing was their make or break, what makes them tick or stops the clock (the Bloomsbury brigade being a fountain of insight), where they set a foot wrong and how they rectify it or (see earlier) SINK; how much there is in a fountain pen, a brush, a music score, a rock and its chisel and inches in a bottle to see them through the day.

      So much goes on in one’s brain, one’s life, that no one but no one will ever know about. It’s disheartening at times. Not that it matters because, after all, any of us can only be of so much interest to someone else, indeed our selves. And even if any of us would find themselves on the Petri dish we’d still be entirely dependent on the person looking at us interpreting the results.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — May 6, 2010 @ 10:44 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

