Bitch on the Blog

February 14, 2011

14 Feb

Filed under: Communication,Family — bitchontheblog @ 14:57
Tags: ,

Dearest sweetest Hearts,

Today is that day when we melt. Prescribed by the innoncent Saint Valentine. If he had known what legacy he’d leave to the greeting cards industry he’d had his name changed. Alas, we are victims of circumstance.

So, Happy Valentine to all you lost, found, lonely and celebrating hearts. Can I please have some browny points and/or a star in my booklet for good behaviour? Just wrote and then DELETED ghastly comment on GM and her red hot toyboys. I was kind to Con. Still, one cannot not be too careful so deleted him as well.

Other than that I clasp Daphne to my bosom. Closely followed by Looney, Jean and BHB. Hope my arm will stretch far enough to encircle Ramana’ s considerable waist. Ashok, like a monkey, may sit on my shoulder. Try and keep a balance, Ashok. Nick – well, for the moment I’ll keep him at arm’s length. Though he does have redeeming factors. gaelikaa – dear to my heart – is too far away. So that’s me flattened by Valentine. All I need now is a bottle of Dolce & Gabbana.

As you know, and veering off the heart for a moment, my sisters (and my brother) are given to naming their children at length. Apart from the Italians I can count a Sebastian and a Christopher amongst my nephews, and a Konstantin (yes, really). Julius had to make do with just six letters as did Chiara.  And then there is Valentin. Valentin is my youngest nephew. My youngest sister’s youngest son. The story how he came about is long, though not tedious. My mother assisted the birth. He is now, I don’t know, let’s say six or seven. How do people arrive at names? Why would you call your son Valentin? We never discuss names in the wider family now. Not since my father escaped near heart attack at one of his grandsons being christened ‘Benito’.  And before you Americans and English say anything: He is not shortened to Ben. In my country of origin we do not shorten. He is Benito. Basta. Hope my sisters won’t google anything that could lead them to me. I am dead to them already. But I’d be even deader. And never be deceived: Like gaelikaa, my youngest sister Cornelia looks like butter would most definitely melt in her sweet mouth. She is tough. Can’t believe it. Remembering that sweet little girl in my care.

Yes, so that’s Valentine. Don’t drop tears into your sushi tonight.

U

3 Comments »

  1. For Valentine’s Day I gave Andy a big bag of cherry-flavored Tootsie Pops. If that isn’t true love I don’t know what is. 🙂

    Comment by Cheerful Monk — February 14, 2011 @ 21:34 | Reply

  2. I don’t know what Tootsie Pops are. Going by sound of the name they must be great. And I love cherries. Stones or not. Can I have one, please? Tootsie Pop that is. Cherries currently not in season. :0)

    U

    Comment by Ursula — February 14, 2011 @ 21:44 | Reply

    • Wikipedia to the rescue: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tootsie_Pops

      Years ago, when my husband and I were first married, we were visiting his folks at the same time his aunt was visiting. One evening she looked at him and said, “Andrew, what on earth are you eating?” He took the Tootsie Pop out of his mouth and showed her. “A Tootsie Pop, do you want one?” She said, “Good heavens no!” 🙂

      In his family his name is Andrew, but he doesn’t always act like one, thank goodness.

      Comment by Cheerful Monk — February 14, 2011 @ 22:27 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

