Bitch on the Blog

May 16, 2012

Come again?

Filed under: Communication — bitchontheblog @ 16:31
Tags: , ,

There comes a time in life when you start repeating yourself. A little like the pub bore. This was brought, most cruelly, to my attention when the Angel told me he had heard one particular story of mine so many times he knows it by heart. Naturally, such is my temperament, I am pleased that, so far, I’ve only dined out on one (make that two) stories.

Enter my mother. My mother is my mother. She will rewrite family folklore at will. Drives me nuts. I know what I know and there is no way she can tell me otherwise. Particularly when I was there and she wasn’t. This is of no interest to her. Things are how she perceives them and that’s the end of it. She doesn’t know how much pain she has caused me by plainly denying what I remember. Memories need to be endorsed. Otherwise what’s the use? Yes, so I don’t contest anything any longer. It’s not worth it. That’s where the phone comes in handy. Body language will not give you away.

One day I will miss her and her funny missives (handwritten, snail post – yellow envelopes). She and I go back a long way so even if we don’t see eye to eye on every single Easter egg I did or didn’t find we do share so many memories. Strange world we live in. Whilst I, of all her children, am (geographically) furthest away, according to her she and I speak – and laugh – more than any of the others do.

U

1 Comment »

  1. My son says I say things three times. I have now made it clear that I will say them only once if that is enough. Otherwise it takes three times for him to understand. Now I’m wondering if it has bled over into other areas of my life – like blogging. However, my son says I say things three times….ooops!

    Comment by writingfeemail — May 16, 2012 @ 23:27 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

