Bitch on the Blog

May 24, 2012

Economics

Filed under: Despair — bitchontheblog @ 16:50
Tags: , , ,

I have just about had it with the English Press (the paper and its commentator not to be named). What is with the English? They refer to the rest of Europe as “the Continent” when they themselves are part of fucking Europe. They refuse themselves. If the Euro were a bedchamber they might find themselves either in a nunnery, a cloister, or in a divorce court – marriage annulled.

So fucking Germany once more being maligned when Germany is the very country who bails out everyone. Including the Greek. It’s incredible. If, and I hope I won’t because I’ll be going down, meet that columnist who wrote his smear, probably whilst having lunch and one too many drinks on his paper’s expenses account, I’ll punch him. I will. With pleasure. Let him pay for his own Moussaka and a bottle of Ouzo.

Sometimes in life we mess up. But don’t piss on those who lend a helping hand.

Vorsprung durch Technik? Well, you could have fooled me. And whilst you are at it: Why not put up for sale your BMW and break off your neighbour’s Mercedes star?

U

4 Comments »

  1. I’ve got a mercedes star! I found it in the road and was very disappointed to find that it is ….MADE OF PLASTIC. Sill an icon of design. BTW didn’t BMW start off by making British Cars under license. The first car which BMW successfully produced and the car which launched BMW on the road to automobile production was the Dixi, it was based on the Austin 7 and licensed from the Austin Motor Company in Birmingham, England. Wink!

    Um…it’s not just the English you know…the whole of Britain. The reason we didn’t swallow the Euro thingy was that it was so obviously part of a plan by the infernal Frogs to try to unite Europe as an overtly political union. You must realise that for the formative centuries of our history all our troubles have arisen in Europe…The Romans, the Angles and Saxons, the Jutes, some of the Vikings (aka Danes) and the Normans (though they were Frenchified vikings)then the Spaniards. I’m given to understand that even the Celts emigrated from Western central Europe (though they may have origina;ly migrated from North Africa but that was something like 30,000 years ago)… back on track… Our kings were (the rightful )Kings of France at one point but somehow we let them get away.
    I don’t suppose that those who know will have forgiven the French and Germans for stealing our idea of a unified Europe either.
    Mind you His Majesty’s Consul in Naples about 1907 (IIRC) wrote a letter to the Governement asking how on Earth we expected to sell products to the Italians if we refused to make screws using the same measurement system as our customers…..

    However, There is no need to malign Germany at this stage of history at all. The architects of the Euro should have stuck to their own rules and not let the lying Greeks (and others)in. Historically we Brits have been way behind in a lot of things….. like valuing technical education as much as pure academe.

    I’d love to know exactly which newspaper you were reading…. My main suspect would be the Daily Express but I cannot imagine you reading such a paper.

    My father read the Express right up until the day they removed the chains from the crusader on the masthead. Now “she who thinks she must be obeyed” reads it and I have to hep with the Monday Crossword so I get to read that objectionable little man whose name escapes me for the minute…..

    Ursula please please let me know which paper and which columnist…I’m intrigued

    Comment by David(Magpie) — May 24, 2012 @ 20:46 | Reply

    • You are right, David. I most certainly do not read the Daily Express.

      I am just so pissed off with it all. You can’t have bloody ‘Wirtschaftswunder’ during Adenauer’s reign in the years when Germany clawed its way out of disaster; admire Germans for being so “clean” (dear dog in heaven, that’s their claim to fame: Cleanliness, no litter), admire their work ethic and their way with the pennies which according to England will look after the pound to only then go after them when they ask for austerity. I’d be lying if I said I know anything about the ins and outs of politics. Or finance. I don’t. But I do know about prejudice. And I hate it. With a big H.

      Greece joined the Euro. Which is more than can be said for England. Greece is Greece. Everyone knew that before they were invited to join the club. My god, FOS’s work took him all over the world. When Greece was the destination his heart sank. When a Greek says today you may be lucky if the donkey arrives tomorrow. So what? People are the people they are. Greek can be pulled along with the rest of Europe. As Germany is trying to do. A bit like a toddler has to keep up with the rest of the family unless the toddler is carried on someone’s shoulders.

      As to the paper and the columnist … well, we rarely reveal our sources. Do we?

      U

      Comment by Ursula — May 25, 2012 @ 05:58 | Reply

      • Britain…;-) I don’t know about our politicians but the average Briton does not want to be part of a United States of Europe….which I doubt will work beause of all the different languages (cf the USA)…. when we voted in that long ago referendum we voted for the Common Market…. essentially a trading organisation…. the changes have been thrust upon us by our elected supposed representatives.Even “die Thatcher” signed up for things political (perhaps it should be “der Thatcher”?….chuckle)…..
        I loved the article on Broadcasting House this morning, about the German attitude to Credit Cards …… Englishman applies for card, banker agrees as the account is a good one. Englishman askes to be allowed to pay his dues on the last day of the month ” Of course you may sir. You will have to as that is the only way we do it.” (or words to that effect)…. emminently sensible I thought but now i can see how those with prejudice might say, “Typical Teutonic attitude!” (If they know the word teutonic that is)

        I have a problem with my upbringing because my father was very much of the “My country right or wrong.” breed and at the same time opined that “They are like every group on earth: There are the very good and the most evil but the majority are just ordinary people like you and me.” “They” being the universal pronoun of course….The first time I heard that was after Ihad met my first “person of colour” at age 10…he was a Sikh gentleman who was going from door to door selling brushes and polish out of a suitcase…”The Kleen-e-zee man”…..

        Of courswe we have another “difficuty” raising its head in these Islands…. the possible influx of immigrants/benefit tourists from poorer European countries if the Euro fails ……… Is it a natural response to want to lift the drawbridge?

        Comment by David (magpie) — May 27, 2012 @ 09:49 | Reply

  2. I probably shouldn’t mention my Audi. It has been a long time since I drove a Greek car.

    But seriously, when was the last time you met a sober Economist? And isn’t it the strategy of all news outlets to draw in readers by giving increasingly implausible news?

    Comment by Looney — May 26, 2012 @ 03:12 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

