Bitch on the Blog

May 29, 2012

I hate gender stereotyping

Filed under: Despair — bitchontheblog @ 16:24
Tags: , , ,

Before I revert my attention, as promised, to gays, let’s get something straight.

There is a blogger out there who is beginning to get on my tits. For the sake of convenience, and so that he recognizes himself, let’s call him Nick. Normally I don’t use the expression ‘on my tits’. But needs must. Not least Nick’s. Nick is a man, say in his mid sixties. I shan’t comment on his maturity. He has fashioned himself into a spokesman for womanhood. I had this out with him the other day in both his and, mostly, in Ramana’s comment boxes.

Since I get chastened in comment boxes every so often I shall take Nick’s shit into my own pig sty.

Nick, let me remind you: I am a woman. And I resent you telling me how I feel and what offends me. You know what offends me, Nick? You maligning YOUR own gender, only to quiver when I say boo to an as yet to be cooked gander. Let me enlighten you, Nick: What you are doing with many of your posts, what you are accusing other men of, is  cheap titillation. Ever thought of it like that? No, didn’t think you would. When I say that being wolf whistled is nothing to me you don’t take it seriously, do you? Nick, the man (don’t make me laugh), do draw your own conclusion. If  you can’t see the irony then you are beyond a woman ever looking at you. Not that I’d whistle at you even if I could.

Let me tell you something, Nick, Woman to Man: Denigrating your own gender does not make you a better man. It makes you most unattractive. I am the mother of a son, a daughter of a man, a sister of a man, a cousin to many a man, a friend to the stalwart – and I do NOT like the way you talk about men, the way you make them into sexual predators.  Still (see above), I know you wish to titillate and ingratiate yourself with your, sometimes misguided, female readership. Your offering today, a man in a bikini ‘asking for it’, really did it for me. I wouldn’t even shake your hand. And I have had limp hand shakes before. Yours no doubt dripping.

Sorry, Nick. I know you are of a sensitive disposition. But you do need to either be taken out of a closet or given a shake.

Before I forget, but then of course for you, Nick, men are the bad boys, by coincidence and not for the first time, the Angel (a most attractive specimen of a twenty year old) mentioned to me yesterday that whenever he goes out strangers will come up to him (women that is) compliment him on his drop dead gorgeous long long long blond hair, touching it. Invasion of privacy, Nick? One stretch too far? Invading personal space? You tell me. I dare say: Like his mother was in her time, he too is perfectly able to live with the attention and look after himself.

Get a grip, man.

U

5 Comments »

  1. Goodness, I have got you excited. Can’t think why. As I keep saying, your constant assumptions about me are mostly wrong so your post is largely nonsense. However, just for the record:

    1) I’ve never tried to be a spokesman for womanhood, as obviously I’m not a woman.
    2) I don’t malign my gender, only those men who behave disgustingly to women – such as rapists, sex traffickers and genital mutilators. And yes, there are rather a lot of them.
    3) Yes, I accuse other men of cheap titillation. Which means sexual thrills. Because many of them are seeking just that.
    4) Denigrating my own gender makes me unattractive. Not if I’m denigrating the sort of men whose misogynistic behaviour normally gets excused or overlooked. But let my friends and blogmates be the judge of that.

    I’m sure you’re aware that feminists throughout history have been written off as man-haters. Some things never change.

    I’m glad your son has such lovely hair by the way. Stroking hair is one of my favourite tactile experiences. And yes, I’ve done it to total strangers as well.

    Comment by Nick — May 29, 2012 @ 19:05 | Reply

  2. Granted that you have a point of view that is logical from a strong personality. Why should it however exclude the many ninnies as you call them of either sex? I am sure that you are quite capable of taking care of yourself if harassed and/or going to the rescue of a ninnie as you call a victim, of either gender and why should it be any different for a man to do that?

    Bullies of either gender will try and pry on the weak. Ask any victim of bullying, a form of which is what I would call sexual harassment. Rather than be a bystander, if the strong, not necessarily of the physical variety, intercede, the victim is spared some damage, physical and psychological. The victim may even realize that all are not like that.

    What is not discussed generally in public is the effect sexual harassment has on the victim. I am currently counseling a victim who has been traumatized and is yet to fully recover from her experience, despite the harasser having been put behind bars. It does not make for pleasant listening to hear her loathing of herself. And she is certainly not the only one so traumatized.

    Comment by rummuser — May 30, 2012 @ 01:33 | Reply

    • I most certainly do not belittle the effect ‘bullying’ or ‘abuse’ has on anyone, male or female. However, I think we now live in a time where people are too squeamish, calling ‘wolf’ before they’ve even been whistled. I remember a robustness where you just got on with the vagaries of life. Dusted yourself down.

      People like Nick make ME uncomfortable. Leaving a bad aftertaste. Which is what I addressed at your post of “Sexual Harrassment”. The irony being that some of what he says, and I am afraid you too (though having a soft spot for you I tend to let you off lightly), I do find offensive. But then, maybe, you have to be a woman to understand what you two, men, are saying.

      I always give people the benefit of the doubt. So I am sure both of you only meant well. But, in my experience, do-gooders sometimes undo their good.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — May 30, 2012 @ 03:22 | Reply

  3. My goodness, some people do have too much time on their hands. Get a grip.

    Comment by Jenny — June 1, 2012 @ 18:24 | Reply

    • Hi, Jenny. I take it you are Jenny of Nick fame. Too much time for what exactly?

      I myself have little. Neither does it take me long to throw up whatever fodder makes it onto these and other pages.

      I now have a choice, and I will NOT take the easy way out – as hard as it is. It’d be too vulgar.

      Hugs and Kisses,
      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 1, 2012 @ 18:39 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

