Bitch on the Blog

May 31, 2012

In tatters

Filed under: Happiness — bitchontheblog @ 06:22
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Sweethearts, pass me a handkerchief. It doesn’t need to be starched, only clean.

Come to think of it, and to take attention away from what is really on my mind and shouldn’t tell you anyway: Wasn’t it lovely when people still carried handkerchieves? I am sure it’s one of the reasons I like “Gone with the Wind”. Clark Gable (what did I see in him?) passing that conniving Vivien Leigh his pristine hanky. Oh the romance of that gesture! Since all of you are too old to bother watching that film again you will never know whether I have just made up that scene or not. Just remember to carry something (preferably white) when you meet me. I may graze my knee. Or get shot (in the foot).

Yes. Insert sigh. Now it’s all tissues. Paper. Disposable. Commendable and most hygienic. Yet you can’t make a knot into a piece of tissue. It’ll tear. Admittedly, unless clumsy, a long string of toilet paper will let you make a knot. But then: Who carries a roll of toilet paper with them? I don’t. Other than when on holiday on Corsica.  My sweet and tiny grandmother used to make knots in her (lacy, white) handkerchief when she wanted to remember something.  No Filofax or iPod in those days. It puzzled me. Greatly. How can looking at a knot you made earlier that day or ten ago possibly jog your memory? I still don’t know. And I smell a rat even before I see it.

Off to do some ironing. No, not handkerchieves. Toiletpaper.

Feeling better now. Hugs and kisses,

U

3 Comments »

  1. Still carry handkerchiefs. Very useful to have magic hanky to make unhappy children smile…..obviously, they smile at the vey thought that the hanky is magic which somehow proves the point.
    It occurs to me that cotton (or even silk) hankies ar on a par with terry nappies. Both snisible solutins to natural problems that have all but been ousted by “convenient” solutions which turn out to be anything but.
    P.R. have never watched Gone with the Wind.

    Comment by David — May 31, 2012 @ 09:36 | Reply

    • You have never watched “Gone with the Wind”?

      David, you have not lived. Now it’s too late. Art thou from outer space? I take it neither will you have read the book. Which is a slightly longer pastime than the film and teaches you, as an added benefit, a lot about the American Civil War.

      Oh to hear those delicious words (Clark Gable): “Quite frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn”. And those of the chastized (once she had woken up to the fact what happiness she had thrown away) Vivien Leigh:: “Tomorrow will be another day.”

      Which reminds me: How on earth did Laurence Olivier and Vivien Leigh end up together? I detest Olivier. People can say what they like about him being one of the finest actors of all time. Maybe so. I can’t abide watching him. There is something unnatural, artificial, contrived about him. I’d not trust Olivier, the man, an inch. Not even a millimeter.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — May 31, 2012 @ 11:29 | Reply

  2. Being a Southern American, I am flattered by your love of ‘Gone of With Wind’. I have always looked at Scarlett’s character being an example of the strength required to be a woman. She may have been restricted by her religion, region, war, sex, and financial down fall. The social morees of the era dictated a behavior that would have brought her to ruin. She not only survived – but thrived – and took that sniveling ole Ashley with her. And any woman who can make haute couture from drapes has my vote! Oh, you were talking about hankies. Probably need one after my long winded comment. Oops. Pass the tissue.

    Comment by writingfeemail — June 3, 2012 @ 01:39 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

