Bitch on the Blog

August 23, 2012

Babylon

Filed under: Communication — bitchontheblog @ 04:51
Tags:

Bike Hike Babe made me think (not for the first time) by mentioning monastery and vow of silence.

Let’s forget that I’d rather lose my tongue than my eyesight (for obvious reasons). The tongue, much underrated – other than when you go to the doctor, kiss someone or need to eat – being vital to speak.

Lost myself in thought here. Before I get on ‘locked in syndrome’, another of my nightmares, let us stay with communication. Remember: We are talking vow of silence. Why oh why oh why would anyone wish to suppress that which comes natural? Speak to each other, communicate.

But then, maybe, those who take those vows have nothing to say. Or are so oppressed, supressed, depressed they’d rather be quiet than partake in normal human exchange.  Come to think of it, BHB: So those monks who refuse themselves by not talking do they shut their ears to – in no particular order – seagulls (you can’t shut them up) or music (the most divine that most my friends and the Angel listen to as a form of nourishment to feed the soul)?

We were given language for a reason. Even a lion yawns.

U

2 Comments »

  1. On the face of it, how can any disagree with you? But I went to a Buddhist retreat so I could network with like-minded people. Much to my surprise, it was a silent retreat. Drats! No networking that weekend…and yet, something magical happened. The silence was, indeed, golden. My other senses (including my sense of myself) awakened. I felt so connected with all those others in ways that I never could have imagined. There are so many ways to commune with ourselves and others without hearing the sound of our own voices.

    I never woulod have known if I hadn’t had this experience… 🙂

    Comment by Lorna's Voice — August 27, 2012 @ 22:07 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

