Bitch on the Blog

October 19, 2012

Filing

Filed under: Atmosphere — bitchontheblog @ 20:03
Tags: , , ,

There is comfort in chaos.

Who’d have ever thought that I, of all people, Ms Organized, would commit those words to paper?

There is comfort in chaos. Well, let’s not exaggerate: Maybe not so much in ‘chaos’ but certainly in disorder. I look around me and ten years ago I would have blitzed the place to within an inch of its comfort zone in ten minutes flat and filed everyone and everything in alphabetical order whether they liked it or not.

Now, this minute, I look at my desk, the window sill the desk runs along and whilst it’s a shambles there is comfort in it and reluctance to do anything about it. And no, I am not depressed. I am undecided. Who is the real me? The old one or the even older one?

Don’t worry: The rest of what can only loosely be described as a ‘study’ is a disgrace – and I am so glad that people who knew me earlier in my life can’t see what my back is facing when I sit at my desk. That’s one of the reasons I am so happy that I don’t have eyes at the back of my head.

The secret to life is storage. Which is why I always wanted a plan chest, preferably an old and weathered one. Plan chests will be familiar to architects to hold their, well, plans. I need a plan chest to hold all my paper. And photographs. And everything.

Just shows you: You can take an orderly person out of order. But you can’t take the urge to order out of me.

Wish me luck. I am not sure where this is leading. But I do fear for myself. This might sound oddball but I think I can pinpoint the moment paralysis set in. On 12 January 2009 the police knocked at my door and asked me whether I was the owner of vehicle ………. Indeed. I was. I had taken it to the garage for its annual check up and various repairs. For a handsome fee. Only the garage parked the car – ready for collection the next day – on the road. Yes, Sweethearts, someone shortened what was quite a vehicle – in the middle of the night. Identity unknown. It was a write off. Not that the car and I were joined at the hip but I loved the freedom, the spur of the moment, following your impulse, it gave me. Since then I walk which, yes, keeps me fit and trim – nothing new there then – but I think I’ve lost a gear or two.

Anyway, I can feel a tidal wave of determination coming on. So should I be a little quiet (unlikely) it’s because I am on a mission. Please do let me know what you’d like to be filed under. I’ll even coloUr code you if you wish. Make an inventory of you. And a duplicate. Should you prefer being dumped I will make sure you’ll go into the right recycling container.

Hugs, kisses and clinging to the wreckage of my life,

U

6 Comments »

  1. Just file me with the beer or good single malts U – we can knock back a few and debate away. Then we can change sides and redebate the issues.

    Comment by shackman — October 19, 2012 @ 20:40 | Reply

  2. File me under: I can’t believe you haven’t had wheels since 2009! Of course, you have a lot of access to great transportation. And no need for a gym membership. I’d say it’s working for you.

    Comment by writingfeemail — October 19, 2012 @ 22:08 | Reply

    • Renee, I was devastated when I lost that car. My white Citroen Diesel Estate. A work horse if ever there was one. And contrary to what people usually have to say about Citroen it was reliable. 19 years always at my service and taking the Angel and me all over Europe.

      Like you I can’t believe either that I have been without wheels for nearly four years. However, considering that I broke both my arms not shortly after and no sooner had I recovered I broke one again I couldn’t have driven for a long time anyway. Not least because I prefer manual to automatic and, yes, I know it’s a notion maybe a little foreign to an American. All I can say: Manual gives you something to do whilst driving (changing gears). I love driving. Love it. Partly for the sake of it. Partly because it gives you spur of the moment freedom.

      Anyway, I am fully mended now. And I watch my every step so I don’t trip up in the next pothole. England’s pavements/walkways are improving but they are still attrocious. Never known anything like it.

      So now I am fully mended and able to earn money again who knows. Soon I might be able to afford a wheelbarrow. All I’ll need then is a ‘chauffeur’ to cart me around.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — October 20, 2012 @ 02:01 | Reply

  3. They say a cluttered desk is the sign of a cluttered mind. I say balderdash! What does a tidy and clean, but empty desk then signify? Don’t file me please – I enjoy being strewn about with the ability to randomly mingle with others on the desktop.

    Comment by Phil — October 22, 2012 @ 13:50 | Reply

    • It’s too late now, Phil. My desk is perfect once more perfect. PERFECT. So perfect I am almost brain dead.

      My desk is not ’empty’ but fully functional – in a manly sort of way (no photographs of my loved and unloved ones – I remember what they look like). In fact my desk is a beauty. Everything you need in easy reach is in easy reach. All pencils sharpened. Staplers of all sizes aligned. It’s once more so perfect I find it distracting. The biggest stapler and hole punch, side by side, joint in office matrimony. The only thing on my desk, slightly worrying, not serving a purpose is a heavy paper weight. When I say heavy I mean if you whacked someone with it you’d go to prison. I only keep it because the Angel bought it for me (or maybe someone else bought for him for me) when he was little. Anyway, it might come in useful one day. No, not to hold down paper. But to … I don’t know, let your imagination run wild. Beginning to feel like Lucia di Lammermoor now; only not quite on the high note.

      Yes, so things are good. Inching my way through everything else in our abode. I don’t know why I find it amusing but when I am on a mission I am so much on a mission even I can’t stop myself. What’s it today? 22 Oct. Have set myself a deadline of 15 November. Though will extend it to 1 December. to cut slack. After all I am not a slave driver.

      As to you: I have long filed you, Phil. Neither have I forgotten where.

      U

      Comment by Ursula — October 22, 2012 @ 15:18 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

