Bitch on the Blog

November 16, 2012

Positioning

Filed under: Amusement — bitchontheblog @ 18:17
Tags: , , ,

Sweethearts, life is about logistics. Don’t tell me otherwise. I know. Not only was I once upon a time a logistics expert, I was married to one. The only time his heart sank whenever business would take him to Greece. And yes, I did all his packing at four in the morning. And drove him to the airport. Please do bring out the violins. Those were the days when women were women and ironed their men’s shirts. And folded them. Which is why it pays nowadays, for a man, to be gay. Don’t hold me to this observation as it’s plucked out of thin air.

Yes, logistics. And this is one for all fathers known to me past, present and future who – at some expense -marry off their daughters. It’s all very well you paying for her dress. Her looking ravishing. One third into the reception she will have to go the toilet. Champagne in, champagne out. It’s the natural order of things. No one ever thinks about this: Few toilet cubicles allow for meringues. I know this because my dear sweet so young sister-in-law was in despair. Luckily both her mother and I were in ‘the ladies’ at the same time. This was before you tube so no record has been made other than in our joint memory. Yes, so next time you go for a fitting take measurement of dress circumference round the hips and diameter of cubicle into account. And before any of you ask me how the Elizabethans did it, what with their long robes, I will tell you or point you to a historian who knows. Don’t expect to be thrilled.

U

4 Comments »

  1. I have a confession. A couple days ago I took rummuser, abbie, & you off my Follows list. The only ones there. (Jean sends me her posts.) Today I put you back. Your posts are delightful! Except when your panties (drawers) are in a twist & even those are good.

    Comment by bikehikebabe66 — November 17, 2012 @ 01:19 | Reply

    • P.S. I was trying to deprive myself of fun to have more time to shovel out my house.

      Comment by bikehikebabe66 — November 17, 2012 @ 01:22 | Reply

      • Never deprive yourself of fun, Cynthia. If you do it takes the fun out of the chores.

        You have been ‘shoveling’ the contents of your house for some time. So have I. At a snail’s pace. Though in my case it gives me an almost perverse pleasure. Not least because I get myself lost in time, memories. The other option is to move house (I know that won’t apply in your case). During the last two moves I was rather distracted by other things in life so I wasn’t my usual efficient self. Which meant that a lot of stuff got ‘lost’. Since I don’t expend energy on the frankly annoying I didn’t start an argument with the removal companies involved. It’s just not me. I hate forms. I hate quibbling over monetary value. And who did what when. The ‘why’ might just about interest me. But even that is time consuming. As long as personal momentos, my books, photos, letters (and emails) documenting my life are safe the rest is just stuff.

        What I have noticed in both my grandparents’, and my parents’ generation (they were still chldren at the the end of the war): Fleeing (in my mother’s case from the Russian army advancing) so many people had to leave their homes with as much as they could carry and that was it. No looking back. No sentimentality. A luxury you couldn’t afford. Yet, I can’t help feeling it’s also made that generation more mindful.

        Cynthia, by way of comfort, I find that gentle ‘weeding’ is better than doing anything drastic. I know your children are strewn all over the place but you might be surprised what they’d like to take off you now. And what means nothing to them – making it easier for you to let go.

        I have said it before, and I say it again: Go easy on yourself, Cynthia. I wish I could be there with you. I once did a clear out on a mega scale with someone ‘downsizing’ to a much smaller property, and we sorted through several generations of accumulated memories and things. Those afternoons were quite wonderful. We were strangers to each other, yet she delighted in telling me about, say, where that particular set of crockery came from, and I delighted in listening to a sixty-plus lady’s life. She trusted me completely to find a good home for all those items she let go. And before you ask: No, it wasn’t a ‘job’. And yes, I did ensure that she made a fair amount of money out of it – if only to give her something tangible at the end of what must have been a wrench. .As usual, I am off with the fairies …

        In tandem,
        U

        Comment by bitchontheblog — November 17, 2012 @ 05:11 | Reply

        • You’re right. I’ve been shoveling for years. But not OUT. From room to room. My children don’t want my stuff. They have their own stuff & no room for mine. A lot are costly wedding presents. They use the useful, as I do. Now I’ve gotten other people’s wedding presents on Freecycle–which I signed up to get rid of my excess stuff. I’m hopeless. (Do I throw out 1 cent [the cost of the postage] postcards, that were saved for 75 years, mostly by my mother? Answer: Yes.)

          Comment by bikehikebabe66 — November 17, 2012 @ 20:35 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

