Bitch on the Blog

November 11, 2013

Marlene Dietrich

Filed under: Atmosphere — bitchontheblog @ 15:04
Tags:

My bitch is well trained. Walks at heel. However, that muzzle needs to be taken off every so often.

Since one of the broadsheets I mentioned recently has now blacklisted me so much that I have reached the status of not just being “moderated” but PRE-moderated (make that obliterated) I have to find wrath somewhere else. For those interested: It is extraordinary. Where fellow commentators will call the author (and other commentators) blithering idiots – which I find not only stupid but below the belt – perfectly reasoned comments will be taken down. It’s quite fantastic. Oh the fun. One commentator now so incensed for being continually taken down has promised to write (longhand, paper) to the editor of paper. Several co-commis, including my miserable self, supported this. It took about half an hour for all of us going down the drain. Anyway, that’s it. Will now undergo sex and name change, present at said paper and apply for position of moderator.

In the meantime, because I am fuming on many cylinders of life at the moment, I take light – if startled – relief reading a blogger’s spoutings (only every few days or so – there is only so much I can take). A person who has navel gazing down to an art rivalling Michelangelo lying on his back whilst painting the ceiling of the Sixtine Chapel. An extraordinary case. So glad I don’t work in psychiatry. Though, if I did, I might not find anything surprising. Giving me peace of mind. Forgive me for saying so: People like her should not have children. Navel is one thing, abyss is another. Never ever in my life have I come across anyone so self centered. Breathtaking. Absolutely breathtaking. Doing to her children exactly what she is lamenting about her own mother. Do you ever feel like shaking the shit out of someone?

To fire my furnace further: Another bane claims that “real women don’t do drama because her time is too precious”. Let’s leave aside wondering what constitutes a “real” woman as opposed to fake: What if life does throw ‘drama’ at you whether you want it or not? So her REAL woman walks away? Anyway, mustn’t stoke that little flame of contempt growing on me. Never thought it possible, must be moving in the wrong circles: Contempt. Feeds on itself. Leaving a bad taste.

U

4 Comments »

  1. So tell me – how exactly do you distinguish navel gazing from self-awareness? Because I’m all in favour of the latter. People who lack self awareness are a pain in the arse.

    Comment by nick — November 11, 2013 @ 22:26 | Reply

    • How do I distinguish navel gazing from self-awareness, Nick? I can be self aware without continually looking at my navel to the exclusion of all others, everything else. There is something as TOO MUCH. Once you become the centre of your own world I really do believe one needs to brush up on Newton’s law of motion.

      The person I am talking about obsesses endlessly about herself. In public. You may ask why I visit her blog. Morbid fascination. That’s why. Not that I ever comment. She is so self centered I wouldn’t dare say anything. It would make f… all difference. There are people beyond help, beyond redemption. And I say this as someone who – not just by reflex but out of genuine concern – will hold out a helping hand to anyone. Yet, sometimes, that hand will not be taken. Because, if it were, the very cycle some people’s psyche is feeding on, would be broken. Oddly, she did me a favour by stating that I am the last person in the world she’d be friends with. Saving me a lot of bother. Sometimes you have to let people drown in their own shit. She is a first for me. Can’t believe what’s happening there. What it does to her children. Is there anything worse than being a helpless bystander? Still, even Mother Theresa couldn’t save the world.

      U

      Comment by Ursula — November 12, 2013 @ 04:07 | Reply

  2. Marlene? I could never translate the words but I sure understood her…… Mein Mann ist Verhindert…….( MIss Otis Regrets.)…..Bitte geh nicht fort…..ANNIE DOESN’T LIVE HERE ANYMORE………. Let’s Call it a Day…plus the usual ones…..

    Comment by magpie11 — November 12, 2013 @ 18:41 | Reply

    • Marlene Dietrich brings out strong feelings in people. My mother-in-law once likened me to her. I took it as a compliment. My own mother detests Marlene Dietrich (yet, luckily, loves me). I mostly remember MD in that role (was it a Hitchcock?) where she pulls back the hair on one side of her face to reveal a rather ugly scar, with the words: “Remember THIS, MISTER?” Or some such. Powerful scene. Will not elaborate any further since waters are troubled enough. Where is ebb when you need it?

      U

      Comment by Ursula — November 12, 2013 @ 19:42 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

