Bitch on the Blog

February 9, 2014

Invective

Filed under: Atmosphere — bitchontheblog @ 05:51

To those of a more delicate disposition and who, like I do, believe women shouldn’t swear my sincere apologies for a lot of f… in my last post.

I don’t get mad easily but when I do, I really really do. And, normally,  return to the mother tongue. Which is why I wish I were Italian. They do it so beautifully. A normal conversation sounds like an argument. I explained this to the Angel when, the other year, before he set off on some travel. Put another way, in  immortal words at anyone who catches me at a dicey moment: “I am not shouting at YOU, I am just shouting.” Fine difference. Whatever.

If there is one thing I don’t like about myself it’s that I do take things to heart. I envy people who are able to just shrug their shoulder and don’t give a damn. On the whole I think men are better equipped that way. Don’t hold me to ransom on account of gender stereotyping.

The Angel who – from day one – is laid back as to being horizontal thinks me mad to spend so much as a fig of energy on some people. Well. Can’t help it. Too late now to mend my ways.

Purpose of this post (and, yes, I did consult the Angel on this too): How does one lose people on the internet, in the blogging world? Easy it ain’t. Different rules to eye to eye  intercourse apply.

I am not surprised that some do change their identity in the blogging world. If I weren’t so attached to that frankly ridiculous “Bitch on the Blog” so would I. In idle moments, not least when waiting for a call from the States, I register new blogging names. New dawn, new day, new alliteration. None of them, so far, have caught my imagination.

Enchanted, disenchanted, as ever yours and no one’s

U

5 Comments »

  1. It is perfect. Don’t change it.

    Comment by rummuser — February 9, 2014 @ 13:53 | Reply

    • Thanks, Ramana. It is rather perfect, isn’t it. Even if, occasionally, vaguely embarrassing. Still, as long as the shoe fits don’t try and find an even worse one.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 9, 2014 @ 17:27 | Reply

  2. Why not take things to heart? I do…… so much so that I can be very unforgiving, unlike you.
    Which reminds me of why you chose your particular moniker. If not why, then when.

    As for swearing, my dear late friend Elaine, whom I love to this day, once surprised me with a sream of “language” that in previous times would have been called “Factory language”. On seeing my startled expression she explained, ” The very first time I swore I felt a huge sense of freedom. I do it sparigly.”
    Inever heard my father use “Factory Language” at home r anywhere else for that matter. To my shame, I have done so on rare occasions and have been reminded of the facy by youngest when I have requested that he refrain.

    Comment by magpie11 — February 10, 2014 @ 12:26 | Reply

    • Interesting, Magpie. You made me laugh in recognition. “Sparingly” being the keyword. It’s odd about ‘rules’ you grow up with. One was: A man never hits a girl/woman. Men polish shoes (dirty work) not women. Etc.

      My dear mother who is so blunt as to be unintentionally sharp finds it difficult to this day to use a swear word. I find it easy. But that’s only because I mainly speak English. It’s a sort of “one removed” and doesn’t count. And I do so only in my own ear shot and very few others’. And on my blog. Not wishing to state the obvious: We swear when we are angry. A sort of valve to let off steam. The Angel doesn’t really swear but he does use words. There is one when talking about an imbecile. I don’t like it. When you take it literally. So I asked him recently why that word is used considering its true meaning, as it’s only used for men yet referring to part of the female anatomy. He explained it, eloquent as he is. I still don’t quite understand but, at least, I don’t flinch any longer every time I hear it.

      And then there is the other which has reared its head in generation, I don’t know, where are we now? Let’s call it Generation Z. “That is SO gay”. What to make of it? I am not exactly a paragon of being politically correct but it doesn’t sound right. Anyway, I learnt that the expression has nothing to do with what you make of gays. In fact, apparently it’s nothing to do with them whatsoever. It’s just gay. Fine. Whatever. One of those shoulder shrugging moments.

      I am fascinated by invective, linguistically. And, returning to my beloved Italians: Then there is sign language. Essentially, the world of sign language (and invective) being a male one. No doubt about it. I shudder when I hear women swear in public. It’s SO vulgar!

      I hope your friend found a factory in the big great sky and used an appropriate expletive at what can only be called misfortune.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 10, 2014 @ 15:10 | Reply

  3. You will probably have “heard” me say this before but I’ll “say” it again: The use of foul language (usually) demonstrates a paucity of vocabulary. Often a very disarming comment when someone is in full and vicious flow.

    Early in my career I was once called something very graphic by a child who was seriously chastised by a much older and experienced teacher. The insult was repeated some days later so I did the chastising . The culprit ran home and fetched his mother who, in front of the head teacher , the Deputy Head and Senior Mistress called me exactly the same thing…. Ilooked at her and asked, “In what way do I look like copulating feamle genitalia?” Mother looke completely blank, Head teacher walke away, Deputy Head nearly collapsed laughing and Senior Mistress blushed. I left them all to it. Later I was variously hailed as ahero and condemned in the staff room. Nowadays I suspect I would receive almost universal praise…. BTW I have heard the same phrase used more than once uttered by female colleagues…. ones who claim to be feminists….

    The gay insult has definitely replaced the epithet “queer” in the playground (“poof” too I suspect) but it has also expanded it’s remit as it were.. to cover anything slightly feminine or soft… amongst boys.

    Just been called to do a “man’s Job” sort out an elderly lady’s TV screen. I’ll polish her shoes afterwards…. I actually enjoy polishing.

    Comment by magpie11 — February 11, 2014 @ 14:25 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

