Bitch on the Blog

February 11, 2014

Sardonic

Filed under: Errors — bitchontheblog @ 07:19

I can’t go into details and spell it out because recent years have made me a touch paranoid. I also believe that few things are worth risking your life for.

But will admit that I couldn’t help a snorting little laugh on reading one of this morning’s news items. I don’t believe in Karma. This time it kicked in immediately. Well done. It’s terrible and I shouldn’t be laughing. But I am. Reap what you sow. Bastards.

U

4 Comments »

  1. I don’t have to believe. I know that it is.

    Comment by Rummuser — February 11, 2014 @ 11:09 | Reply

    • Dear Ramana, please do see my reply to Renee. Other than that I best go and learn what Karma is about. After I bought the ingredients for tonight’s dinner. First things first.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 11, 2014 @ 15:07 | Reply

  2. I do believe in Karma, even if it takes a while to come full circle. I’ve seen it so many times, though it prefers to sneak up on you when you least expect it.

    Comment by reneejohnsonwrites — February 11, 2014 @ 11:37 | Reply

    • Interesting, Renee. And I think it great – to some extent. Maybe I need to read up on Karma properly to fully understand it. The layman’s understanding being that “what goes around comes around”. Which does of course also include the concept of revenge, something I reject and, as far as I have come to know you, I dare say you do too.

      In my experience what goes around often doesn’t come around at all. I grant that goodness, kindness will often be ‘rewarded’. But how often do we witness the unbelievable, the terrible, even just ‘bad’ luck and shake our head. There is someone fairly close to me (emotionally), someone I watched all my life. In many ways Lady Luck kissed him, in others? It’s a shame. He, now well past his Zenith (in terms of age), does take it in his stride as does his wife. I am just baffled. Baffled. And more baffled. It led to my conviction that “hard work” does not always pay. That when the good fairies are absent minded you don’t “get” what you rightfully deserve – the good or the bad.

      As I am warming to the theme, and by way of example: I know someone who is high up in the echelons of power. I always thought him generous. Gregarious. In an hour of need I turned to him. To ill effect. Only one other time in my life have I been made felt as humiliated. It was so very unnecessary. He could have packaged it another way. But he didn’t. Funny thing is, and there is no contradiction, I always thought him an arsehole. And he proved to be just that. Uneducated. Tactless. Will he fall on his face? Of course not. He’ll do what he has always done: Thrive. With not so much as a backward, indeed a forward, glance. And get his cheque book out at some charity dinner. And shine. In public.

      Karma: I will do things, spur of the moment, give away my last penny to someone freezing in a doorway, give my time willingly to anyone who needs it, my help, whatever (by the way I am not a saint – it’s just the way I was knitted) but never ever with an eye on reward. Never. I think it disgusting to think/feel like that. If I let someone from a sidestreet into the traffic ahead of me I most certainly do not expect that favour to be returned. It won’t. But, yes, every so often in life you will be (pleasantly) surprised by the most unlikely. It’s happened to me and I stand in awe at my good fortune.

      Another aspect, and that is what I DO believe in: We attract what we need. In that way I have been extraordinarily lucky. People. I look back, look now and look forward so very happy that I appear to attract good people, good friends. Including via the internet. Not least you (wish I lived round the corner). Those I take a true liking to never disappoint. And even if they do it’s fleeting. I sincerely hope I do return the favour to them. Though have lost two sisters. How I managed that I don’t think I’ll ever understand. It’s bitter. But then we can’t have everything. My mother has her own theory on it. She does not intellectualize things. She just says it how she sees it. Usually hitting that nail so it sticks. She is not given to self pity. Quite the opposite. I can’t believe my siblings are willfully depriving her of seeing her brood happily together. I don’t think I have ever felt hate. But what I do feel, and it’s worse, is, and there is only one word for it and it’s German “Verachtung”.

      I won’t apologize for the avalanche of this comment, Renee. In many ways the loss of your mother, the
      moving way you related the terrible, has tapped into my grief for both the living and the as yet not dead.

      Tender bear hug,
      Ursula

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 11, 2014 @ 15:06 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

