Bitch on the Blog

February 13, 2014

Room with a view

Filed under: Atmosphere,Environment — bitchontheblog @ 03:51
Tags: ,

Had another thought. Not all thoughts are viable. They are more like rabbits. Hatching at the rate of knots. With wind in the sails.

I live in what I call Restaurant Street. Adjoining. I don’t give them business. For reasons unimportant in context. My computer screen is on my right. At an angle. Yes, I know it’s ergonomically not so good. But I like it. Not least because, every time I look away, I have that view – what with my desk running the whole length of the window.

You can’t buy taste. About twelve months ago a unit and its window was snatched by an estate agent (not a restaurant). What I find fascinating, and one of these days. when I have nothing better to do, I will take it up with them (not just because they annoy by being in my line of vision every night) their lights are going full blast. Neon. In your face. I am pretty green (as in ‘save the planet’, ‘recycling’, ‘waste not want not’). One wonders, I do, who they think will look into their shop window at three in the morning to find a new flat/house.

I dislike the unnecessary. Disenchants me when business disregards the basics that a private householder is supposed to observe. I do observe. And am pissed off. To the hilt.

U

4 Comments »

  1. I stopped being pissed off. A building that has been unoccupied for the last quarter century kept as inventory by the builder abuts my compound wall and now work is going on there to make it a commercial property. To help the night watchmen keep an eye on various things stored in the compound, a couple of very bright lamps have been installed and the light comes directly on to my face if I do not draw the curtains on my window. I have got used to sleeping with the light on my face. Price one pays for progress.

    Comment by Rummuser — February 13, 2014 @ 06:57 | Reply

    • Funny you should say that: “Sleeping with the light on my face”. Same here. But I stopped it.

      To understand the workings of where I live: It’s essentially a ‘U’ shape. So, depending which room I am in in, I have three different views. Since we are not overlooked only the Angel’s bedroom does have curtains. Other than that this place is a “goldfish bowl”. Which is great when the full moon shines on me. Brilliant. I look at the moon and think of all the other people in my life looking at that face in the sky at roughly the same time.

      There is one huge, rather attractive building diagonally opposite one of my rooms. Large windows. Lights on all night. One in particular. A nuisance. And nobody in there. One day I went over and in. Eery place. Beautiful. But eery. No one there. Floor after floor, room after room after room. Empty. Clearly meant to be office spaces. Then I found someone. If he’d been the axe murderer you wouldn’t have found me by now (though I do tend to leave notes for the Angel so he knows where to find me should I disappear – but not always). Anyway, so this young guy, some sort of media person, answered my knock on his door. And yes, he said the place – all three floors of it – is deserted apart from him. So why are all the lights on every night then? I asked. He was very sweet. And ever since all the lights are turned off and don’t disturb me any longer. Result.

      I suppose, going back to my original post, what annoyed me more than the light is that electricity is very expensive. Why waste it? By which I don’t mean in monetary terms.

      Mind you, even I don’t know how to contact the man in the moon to keep the glare down.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — February 13, 2014 @ 14:17 | Reply

  2. Wasted energy…..infuriates me… all those buidings where light glare out all nigth when occupancy is nil, except perhaps for the cleaning staff….. then needless street lighting…. Not only does it waste emergy but means that I cannot seen the stars at night…… I last saw them in about 1980/81……. oh for a total power blackout once in a while….. As for sleeping with curtains drawn to…..a better night’s sleep results with the advent of almost total darkness…….. I hate that orange sodium glow…except when doing flame ananlysis…. deja vu here for some reason.

    Comment by magpie11 — February 13, 2014 @ 16:44 | Reply

  3. Well I guess we’ll have to agree to disagree on this – wasting electricity? Just money, electricity is readily renewable here although it can be costly, But as long as I’m not paying the freight, to me it is a no harm no foul scenario. My experience is most business staying lit at night is simply a cheap form of security. Now I do love to see stars at night but there are limits to that in any city – especially one of size and substance. I grew up (allegedly) seeing stars ala John Denver’s vision – being from Colorado and hanging out in the Rockies regularly..

    Comment by Chuck McConvey — February 14, 2014 @ 17:53 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

