Bitch on the Blog

March 6, 2014

Vacant possession

Filed under: Communication — bitchontheblog @ 18:37
Tags: ,

I live my life by instinct. Instinct rarely lets you down. Like gut. Either you are sick or you aren’t. Throw up or don’t.

Occasionally I will ignore instinct when it comes to people. Rarely will I be disappointed. Ignore instinct now, throw up later.

There are arseholes out there. Figuratively speaking. I wouldn’t begrudge anyone their exit. After all: What goes in must come out.

Say what you like about the internet’s version of penfriend, the one you never meet because, like in olden times, you live miles apart. However, in those olden times we had patience with each other, we penned ourselves down to the first knuckle of our middle finger. Now? In the blogging world? Dear dog in heaven, rare the find who will entertain more than  a morsel of a soundbite in their “comment box”. Well, fuck you too. Either I have dialogue with you or you just monologuezise. Is that a verb? No idea. Make up crap as we go along.

Thanks for letting me bend your ear. Am very annoyed this minute.

U

4 Comments »

  1. Still trying to understand.
    Perhaps that’s because I don’t live my life by instinct. Like you. Or maybe I am too slow to work things out and have to have them explained.

    I wish you’d say what’s on your mind. ‘Das Kind beim Namen nennen’, as Frau Merkel says Germans do. Call a spade a bloody shovel.
    Unless this is an entirely private conversation you are having with someone unknown to mere blog readers who are not meant to understand.

    If somebody annoys you, don’t get annoyed in turn, that’s wasted effort. Get even.

    Greetings from Shropshire, U.

    PS: I really like Frau Merkel.

    Comment by friko — March 6, 2014 @ 21:09 | Reply

    • Friko, hello. Obviously, like you I engage brain (make decisions on basis of rationale and reason) but have found that my ‘gut instinct’ rarely lets me down. And when I ignore it I tend to regret it, at some point in the future.

      You ask what’s on my mind. And on re-reading my post after a good night’s sleep I see I’ve done my usual trick of being vague. No, it is not a private conversation I am having with someone via my blog. It was just venting a momentary spleen.

      There is a blog I have been following for I don’t know, say, two years. The blogger is expansive. Each post exceeds the word count of a short story. He recounts his life at such length one wonders as to how he expects his readers to spare him the time. But that’s ok. His life is entertaining. Yesterday his narrative raised a serious and very personal subject. And I took the time and trouble to answer – at length because it’s impossible to package everything into one or two lines. Another of his commentators entered into dialogue with me. I responded. Only to be reprimanded by the original blogger “to comment, not lecture”. I am incredulous. That’s not how discussion works. But then he is the type of trigger happy guy who will show women where their place is. Not that I blame him. That comes from having a very very very difficult relationship with your mother. You are not relaxed around women. Other than, to use his words, when he shags them. He once used his mother to put me down: One of my comments reminded him of her. He topped that insult another time. Following my own narrative here one might say: I clearly rub him up the wrong way. Takes a lot to rub me up the wrong way but now I have been.

      I like people being forthright. Even to the point of ouch. That’s ok. Where you and I come from, as you said, we don’t call a spade a fork. But there is a type of subtle rudeness I find offensive, unnecessary and downright hurtful. Actually, no, let’s narrow it down: I find it difficult to deal with people who are curt. Give me an argument but don’t cut me dead. I am trying to remind myself of one of my father’s favourite sayings, one I have never understood: “Wer mich aergert bestimme ich”, loosely translated as “I decide who annoys me”. If that is so I hope I’ll learn that notion latest on my deathbed. If something affects me, it affects me. Always has, and dare say always will. And I am impulsive. Which is why I flung my anger onto my post.

      If and when, as I did, people take time over you you don’t brush them aside like a pesky fly. Even if only as a matter of courtesy. Long may his comment box live. Without me.

      Greetings from Hampshire, and I too like Frau Merkel,
      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — March 7, 2014 @ 05:27 | Reply

  2. No need to thank Ursula. That is the advantage of the blog world. People bend their ears at their convenience, not at the convenience of the ranter!

    Comment by rummuser — March 7, 2014 @ 01:41 | Reply

    • If only I had the time, Ramana, and one of these days I will take it, I’d write about “the blog world”. Oh my god. Stand by for a few home truths. And a lot of praise. Because there is always more than one side to every coin (can’t believe I have just used such a crappy well worn image).

      As a taster: Some people differentiate between ‘real’ and ‘virtual’ on the internet/blogs. It’s nonsense. Even if I haven’t met someone in the flesh they (and I) are REAL. Human beings. With feelings. We’ll get to know each other over time (just like penfriends). And, most importantly and the point I was trying to make in my response to Friko above: Some we click with, others we don’t, some grow on us over time, some wilt on us or we on them, and some we should have dropped at the outset.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — March 7, 2014 @ 05:29 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

