Bitch on the Blog

April 10, 2014

Don’t cave me in

Filed under: Animals — bitchontheblog @ 17:10
Tags: ,

By way of diversion which is one of my favourite routes down the road to nowhere: Animals.

I like animals. Not in that NYC way of handbag dogs. Give me a cow. If and when push comes to shove I’ll make do with a goldfish. Or a few snails. Snails don’t leave you in any doubt as to when they have had it with you. They’ll just retreat into their shell. And stay there. The perfect symbol for people given to sulking.

My favourite animal, apart from the German Shepherd who looked after me when I was little, and in a domestic setting is definitely the Tiger on the Lawn. Cat by another name. I like a cat’s independence. The independent don’t get on your nerves. You give each other space. You see each other when you see each other and in between you do your own thing. Which, no doubt, is why I am a little sceptical of marriage. Or pimping. Joined at the hip? Thanks, but no thanks.

One does wonder at times how people come to choose a “pet”. Obviously, when in a prison cell, you don’t have much of a choice. I dare say even I would bond with a spider passing through or a rat visiting. One has too many legs, the other a naked tail. Still. Beggars can’t be choosers.

Hedgehogs have some sort of affinity with snails. They too make sure you can’t touch them. By rolling up into a prickly ball. Preferably not showing their soft underbelly.

Fish. I don’t like cold fish. Metaphorically speaking. Brings me to my knees – emotionally.

Birds soar. Unless they are caged in your living room.

Bears. Yes. Bears. Sigh. In an enclosure. Before I burst into tears at the very thought I’ll give you a bear hug, without crushing you,

Ursula

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. I did not choose my pet. It chose me and is in complete control. For the first time since I left my parents’ home, I have to fight for my preferred throne!

    Comment by Rummuser — April 11, 2014 @ 01:16 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

