Bitch on the Blog

June 22, 2016

My heart is aflutter

What a perverse world we live in.

Sweethearts, I do have butterflies in my stomach. I won’t think about it till the morning after the day before (make that Friday) but holy cow. Normally I don’t raise political issues in blogland and I am not doing so this minute but …

The sequence of events being that until a few weeks ago I paid sod all attention to the EU referendum. Sure, since I read the world’s press for both professional reasons and my private amusement I’d skim the headlines on the subject. Didn’t take any of it seriously. Of course, Britain would stay in. Why was this referendum called in the first place?

Till, one day, not so long ago I spoke to an Englishman. Him of the velvet, oh so soothing voice. Yes, Magpie, you. Oh my god. To understand – Magpie is measured. And told me in no uncertain terms that whatever the merits of staying in Europe that cat was by no means in the bag. Though I did vaguely poo poo his notion our conversation was enough to unsettle me slightly. Since when I bloody read anything coming my way on this whole disaster. It’s like scratching a scab on your knee after your ten year old self has fallen off the bike. Fascinating, yet totally self defeating. My gall bladder’s bile rising, my stomach feeling vaguely and permanently nauseous, my colon trying its best not to anchor me to the toilet, my brain calling for reason and calm.

Let’s leave aside that I don’t hold a British passport. So even after over thirty years living in this country I have no say. Doesn’t matter. What matters is the future. And that is – and here we are getting back to my first statement, namely, “perverse” – that the very group this will affect most, namely the under twenty five year olds are so dastardly lazy. They don’t give a shit about their own future and – guess what – a lot of them (though not all) will NOT vote. How did one of them say to me the other day: “I don’t give a toss one way or the other.” Pardon? One might, of course and at a push, argue NOT voting is part and parcel of democracy. However, my father instilled in me that NOT voting usually plays into the hands of those you want the least at the helm of your country.

And, if I believe everything I read – despite my best efforts not to, the loudest voting for EXIT are those who have had it all. Those past their sixties with mortgages paid off, sitting on a pile, pensions in place. What the hell do those of you in that position think you are doing for the future of your kids and their children, your grandchildren? To make a point? A cheap point at that, one which will cost future generations?

Why am I writing this now? The day before the day? Because I have just come across a “youngster” who at least will vote – if out. His brother (honestly the things people will freely tell me without much prompting) who is also voting OUT has put an obscene amount of money betting that Britain will stain IN. Perverse, or what?

Anyway, when he – not so tactfully – asked me how EXIT would affect me, foreigner after thirty years in this country, I told him truthfully: Ask me on Friday. I tend to cross bridges when I come to them. No point wasting energy on something that hasn’t happened yet. Try and tell that to my stomach.

At least the whole caboodle won’t affect the Angel. Whatever the outcome he holds the key (dual nationality) to what both Britain and Europe have to offer post referendum. And, yes, he will vote. And, to his credit, he sees both sides of the argument. However, in chime with the Libran he is you throw a pound on one side of the scales and a Euro on the other. And then see how it balances out.

You know what the biggest shame in all this is? Elements of Britain (obviously not all of the British but sometimes you do take a nation as a whole) have shown themselves from a truly ugly side. Namely immigration, immigration, immigration. It’s always the same. Look through history. You latch onto a minority group and blame them for the shortcomings of your own government’s policies. Yes, I know I am simplifying but that is precisely what the lowest common denominator of this country is doing: Throwing a whole populace to the dogs over some Angst over Polish people wiping old British bottoms in British care homes.

I do believe in damage limitation. However, Britain in the eyes of some of the world have done themselves huge damage. Regardless of how the referendum pans out. Empire – my foot!

So disappointed,

U

 

 

6 Comments »

  1. Well, i do seem to have opened my mouth and inserted a pedal appendage..

    I’m glad you have spoken out: and I’m glad you have highlighted the ugly side… the side that makes me ashamed.

    I love my country and most of my country men (okay, and women) but that ugly side exists and has existed since the time of Shakespeare at the very least. Now that I think about it I should have written : Since Edward 1st in 1290…..

    I am ashamed that my generation, who have presided over so much destruction on this planet and who have truly “never had it so good”, and, here’s a poser, a large number, if not the majority, of their children, can risk so much of the future of my hoped for grandchildren. We had and delivered a broader, more widely available and better quality education ( until the rise of such as Gove) than ever before and yet large numbers have not learned to be other than racist “Little Englanders”…..

    My other thought id that this is a (typically of Britain) matter of class… Outers come from all classes but the majority come from the C1, C2 and D classes… I ommit the E because they consist of “Casual or lowest grade workers, pensioners and others who depend on the state for their income”… the latter of course consists of many of the C and D classes as pensioners as well as others.

    I am dreading tomorrow, 23rd July 2016……. usually a date I associate with something else of fond memory.

    Comment by magpie11 — June 22, 2016 @ 13:44 | Reply

    • May your fond memory of a date you usually “associate with something else” override tomorrow’s shadow.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 22, 2016 @ 16:00 | Reply

      • Thanks……

        Comment by magpie11 — June 22, 2016 @ 17:45 | Reply

  2. I do wish this whole business had simply been left for the voters to decide; it’s been the non-stop arguments from both sides that has caused so much confusion. In many ways I don’t think much would change however they vote. The Germans and French will still want to sell us their cars, and we will still want to sell them insurance. I really wanted to vote ‘out’, but found myself voting ‘in’.

    Comment by Cro Magnon — June 23, 2016 @ 05:06 | Reply

    • Yes, Cro. But how do you leave it “for the voters to decide”? To make a decision (I know this from experience and many attempts to pull out my hair in the process) without facts, information, anything to give you a pointer in some direction, any direction, history lessons at school you haven’t slept through, advice your elders imparted, to arrive at balance? Yes, balance, one of our many holy grails.

      Which neatly leads us to one of the unique selling points (to me) the UK has to offer. Namely its press. Fleet Street of old. If I am wedded to one thing it is print. The power of print is awesome, Cro, awesome. Equally awesome is stupidity. By which I don’t mean people who disagree with the way I see the world. Not at all. What I mean by “stupidity” is that sheep mentality, lemmings over the cliff, not being able to form a coherent thought for themselves without input/endorsement from the “spinners” (remember what’s his name? Smooth to the point of oily operator). As an aside: In the motherland when you call someone a “Spinner” (which, incidentally, is what a spider does – spin a net) is, best case scenario, a dreamer; worst case scenario someone who has lost the plot. Worst worst scenario – the arch manipulator. Svengali.

      Glad you voted in (took notice of it in one of your recent posts). After all, you do have a brood and their offspring to look after, and you yourself live “abroad”. Sometimes in life we do have to take the long view. Says she whose vision (literally not metaphorically) is more myopic than most.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 23, 2016 @ 05:46 | Reply

      • By ‘leave it for the voters to decide’ I really meant to present the ‘facts’ in an equally balanced way, then let people make up their own minds. I think EVERYONE has become exhausted by all the rhetoric and back-biting. I shall be very interested to see the result.

        Comment by Cro Magnon — June 23, 2016 @ 07:40 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

