Bitch on the Blog

June 27, 2016

Follow the leader. What leader?

Filed under: Atmosphere,Culture,Despair,Errors,Future,Integrity,Peace — bitchontheblog @ 10:28
Tags: , ,

I came across a rather strange mention of me on someone else’s blog – something along the lines of “poor U(rsula). She seems to think it’s targeted at her”.

If that is what any reader has taken away from my last two posts then I have not only failed to express myself but I must appear more stupid than I flatter myself I am. Of course, brexit is not “targeted” at the likes of me. And, no doubt, the practical fallout for me personally will me minimal.

What I find a little bewildering that even my most consistent commentators didn’t have anything to say. Not one word of comfort, not even a grunt. Though by way of handing me a virtual tissue to wipe my tears both Ramana and Looney ticked the “liked” box. Good old Nick took pity on me and left a few words. So thanks for that. Anyway, has confirmed a long held belief: People don’t take to being flooded by someone else’s emotion. (or reason, come to think of it) . It’s ok. Just a little strange for someone like me who basically lives in the trenches of passion – mine and others.

What I meant to express was my dismay at a “mindset“, my huge and heartfelt upset at Britain going retrograde. Throwing it all away based on spurious reasons, and, worse, political intrigue. I didn’t call my last post “Shakespearean” for nothing. What is being played out here, and will be for a long time to come unless someone takes decisive action, is pure Stratford-upon-Avon. Except on that stage the curtain will fall and the audience goes back home, unharmed.

Brexit has the impact of living in a family and suddenly you don’t understand the dynamics of that family any longer. Say, your father bolts, your mother still wipes your nose, your brother takes to solitary fishing, your sister marries the man she least likes, the cat snarls at her best friend the dog, the dog comes to me because it’s also totally bewildered as to what the hell has happened. It’s a mess. Let me take the garbage out.

In the last three days I have read (as did the Angel), and we keep doing so, acres and acres and acres of analysis, opinion, prognosis. I am delighted at the many many eloquent, sometimes bordering on brilliant, writings by some of Britain’s finest brains.

And I am dismayed at some of the arguments of the blinkered total delusional Brexiters awaiting tomorrow’s paradise in Britain. Do wake up. Wishful thinking is one thing. A dream is another.

Some people (feeling a bit sheepish now) ticked ‘out’ for a joke because they believed Remain was a forgone conclusion. They now suffer what is so cutely called “buyer’s regret”. At least when you buy something you aren’t so sure off when you get home you can take it back, get a refund or at least an exchange. HA!

And those who advocate popcorn. Sure. Anyone outside the area (Britain and Europe affected more deeply than your scant glance will indicate), those of you who maybe not culturally well versed, aren’t too familiar with history, who don’t have to worry about their kids’ and future generations’ wellbeing – ENJOY.

Let’s go back to the dark ages. Don’t forget to bring a candle (and at least two matches).

U

25 Comments »

  1. So I will provide a response, but keep in mind that I am married to an immigrant, live among immigrants, took some immigrants in to raise, helped them find jobs, paid for college schooling, and do care at least a little about them. I have gone through the headache to get their visas, green cards and helped to get them naturalized. Yet for the last decade I have been the racist bogeyman because I don’t believe in open borders. I think the angst in both Europe and the US have exactly nothing to do with immigration. It is about an invasion being orchestrated for the deliberate purpose of destroying the culture. It might be better characterized as intentional reverse eugenics by malicious intellectuals. Nothing to do with immigration.

    As I read your two posts, it seemed that the emotions you are experiencing are for me what I have known most of my conscious life. The government is doing what???? Roughly half of Europe and America have felt that way a very long time. My recent visit to Europe didn’t bring about too many encounters with the locals, but their reaction was either the same or acknowledging that many felt the same.

    “And I am dismayed at some of the arguments of the blinkered total delusional Brexiters awaiting tomorrow’s paradise in Britain.”

    Of course you didn’t find that sentiment on my blog. Many in the US and EU already want to hurt the UK to set an example, as if we needed an updated version of the Prague Spring. But it does seem to me that the EU’s days are numbered in the same way the USSR’s days eventually came to an end. Things won’t necessarily get any better.

    And of course the “dark ages” term was invented by someone who was unhappy that people stopped speaking Latin and took on their local languages.

    Comment by Looney — June 27, 2016 @ 14:10 | Reply

    • I don’t necessarily believe in open borders but the constantly ignored fact recently is that in the EU the open border state works both ways and very much to the benefit of The U.K> and its citizens….. I ask out voters if they are going to sweep our streets and collect our rubbish. I always get a sneer and a loof of scorn …. some times accompanied by, “It doesn’t pay enough.” or”Of course not.”

      So much ot say and said but I have deleted it…

      Comment by magpie11 — June 27, 2016 @ 15:02 | Reply

      • Magpie,

        Per your comment:

        ‘I ask out voters if they are going to sweep our streets and collect our rubbish. I always get a sneer and a loof of scorn …. some times accompanied by, “It doesn’t pay enough.” or”Of course not.”’

        A union trash collecting job in the US can pay more than 6 figures. And what is the pension for government workers? Which brings up the other point that the EU super-state is designed to protect the old unionists in their established industries first, along with their pensions, while the young can go to &^%#. So the generational warfare theme is correct, except that the reality is the exact opposite of what the news reported.

        Comment by Looney — June 27, 2016 @ 20:42 | Reply

        • Street sweeping is a poor example, but seasonal farm work is a job that Americans do not want to do. There are others. As for the immigration angst in the US, I think it has everything to do with skin color. Many white Americans cannot stand the thought that the country is no longer (or very soon) majority white.

          Comment by snmaeder — June 27, 2016 @ 21:32 | Reply

          • snmaeder, the California Central Valley is where the large majority of farm workers work, but they were fully supplied with labor before the invasion started, nor did they ask for more labor. They are reducing cropland due to the “drought”, while automation is also coming in gradually. But this is really about the EU, and the EU has insane trade restrictions and tariffs against Africa and other poor countries. Since you are so good at sniffing out racism, have you considered why they would make such rules?

            Comment by Looney — June 27, 2016 @ 21:52 | Reply

  2. That’s odd… I have just emailed you to try and explain my lack of reply to Shakespearean: I couldnot workout just how to respond.
    I did copy and paste and print it off to peruse it properly.
    BTW I understood the title too….

    As for the blogger who suggested that you thought that it was aimed at you.. twaddle…… I understand young people being angry at so many older people voting “out” though… as for Britian goinf Retrograde… not all of us…..

    I have a feeling I am going to have to find a copy of Britain on Borrowed Time, by Glyn Jones and Michael Barnes. I read it in the 1960s whilst still at college and learned a lot from it… one thing that stands out is the His Majesty’s Consul in Naples(I think) back in the 1910s wrote a letter saying that British manufacturers were wrong if they expected to sell products to metricated countries if they insisted on using Imperial measurements …….. it is that mentality that has given us Brexit… this arrogance that still exists that insists that the Britsh (read English) way is always best and the rest should folow us. Add to that the loathing (perhaps really fear) of foreigners (read different colour race or crede).

    Grrrrrrrrr!

    Comment by magpie11 — June 27, 2016 @ 14:21 | Reply

    • “I understand young people being angry at so many older people voting “out” though… ”

      Of course the young people would not have known this unless they heard it from an old professor, most likely with a comfy tenure and living in a nice property. The never ending principle of youth being used by the malicious applies here.

      Comment by Looney — June 27, 2016 @ 14:33 | Reply

      • Looney, this is one of those occasion when I am not quite sure what you are saying and fear that I am misreading (which reflects more on me than on you).

        In answer to one possible interpretation of what you are saying, I am afraid you don’t give the young enough credit. I have read and heard most eloquently formulated arguments by youngsters as young as six/seventeen (who were not eligible to vote). There is no doubt that in some families rifts have been caused. By way of example, an over sixty voting out (I don’t know his reasoning). I literally had to take a deep breath when I heard about this. “It’s as if I have never known him”, I said to the Angel. Clearly more with the times than I am I was told “Mama, people change.” Do they? To that extent? Seems so. Irony being that the person in question fits the stereotype – a paid off mortgage, a mega pile in one of the most desirable (to those to whom bricks aren’t so much a home as an investment) areas of the country (just outside London), fat pension on a drip feed – who can now indulge in the luxury of some romantic notion of an England long past. Incidentally, and this made me smile and I fear for the peace under their roof, his wife who is American but also holds a British passport voted Remain. That’s what I call pragmatism. Let’s hope America will apply same when it comes to playing your trump cards.

        The youngsters (18 to 30 age group) I am a little exasperated with are those who didn’t make a cross either way. Of course, I understand that when you are young (most certainly applied to me) that the future is a long long long way away and, naturally, won’t affect YOU. So why vote? Sigh. My father keeps pointing out to me (I don’t know whether by way of trying to comfort me in my hour of distress) that essentially “everything” boils down to education.

        One thing, Looney, is for sure. The British education system has many many good points – in fact, one of the reasons I stayed in England post divorce because I wanted my son to have an “English” education (part of which was “private” insisted on and paid for courtesy of his father – though I hasten to add the Angel was never boarded. The latter an utter no no to me). but … Yes, deep breath, their teaching of history (at school/college) is so lacking, so full of holes, it was the one thing that made me despair about what the Angel would take away from it all. Not a lot, I feared. I remember, he must have been about fourteen or so, they wasted a whole term (four months) on Henry VIII and his numerous wives. They were even asked to paint the portraits of La Boleyn and the rest. I ask you. In fact I didn’t ask anything lest I faint. They weren’t taught a timeline. How one political event may – even years later – be linked to another apparently unconnected. It is to the Angel’s credit and my relief that he is his mother’s son and picked up his school’s slack by “educating” himself, amply helped by my being vocal on the subject. In fact, and I say this with considerable satisfaction, whilst Hammurabi of Babylon and the significance of 1066 may have bypassed him (so far) his knowledge, or rather how he puts it all together, is astonishing. I am literally in awe. Where my youth’s history classes led me by the hand in a methodical way, he and many of his friends left college (in England that’s before you go to Uni if so inclined) with holes as big as your average crater. Yet over the years he has cobbled together causes and their effects that make me listen to him (and some of his friends) with delight. In fact, listening to him intently, discussions, seeing a young person’s perception of the world is an education (for me) in itself. Before this veers off the main path into a hymn on the merits of my son (and many of his peers) and how perceptive he is generally I’ll put the brakes on.

        Since your yourself are a father, indeed, so I believe, have become a grandfather not that long ago, please do let me know how political discussion in your family runs. There are, of course, families were, in order to keep the peace, no one knows how the other is voting “exactly”. Though political leanings are hard to fudge.

        U

        Comment by bitchontheblog — June 28, 2016 @ 11:48 | Reply

        • U, I will offer you an apology for my aggressive remarks. It is why I was afraid to comment earlier.

          Having given my assessment of the EU, I won’t disagree with your sentiment towards Brexit. Should we vote for the fire or the frying pan? The US faces that choice with the current election as well.

          I cannot speak for the UK secondary education. The US education is basically propaganda mixed with a minimalist education. As an American born engineer in Silicon Valley, I am an endangered species. The US engineering grad schools across America are heavily stocked with foreign educated students, since America’s education is so hopeless. We famously have both the world’s most expensive public education system and the developed world’s worst public education, but talented immigrants hide the problem.

          As for my family politics, one of my nephews, who I raised partially, but is really from Taiwan and Singapore, was an enthusiastic Trump supporter from the beginning. Most of the rest of the relatives are leaning conservative, to the best of my knowledge. I know another older mixed couple where the white husband is pro-Hillary and the Chinese wife is anti-Hillary, although it is rare for someone to admit being pro-Trump, and I am certainly not pro-Trump either. The legal immigrants I know are generally appalled at the current lawless invasion, but I live in a narrow community. Immigrants of Indian descent all seem to be hard-left. Hispanics are a complicated group.

          Comment by Looney — June 28, 2016 @ 13:20 | Reply

          • My dear Looney, there is no need to apologize. And I didn’t take your remarks as “aggressive”. It would be a poor reflection on any friendship if we can’t take challenging views to our own within relationships based on mutual trust, liking and – last but not least – respect for the other.

            I take note of your third paragraph with a wry smile.

            That you do have personal experience of the “migrant/immigrant”, and linking back to your first comment which I haven’t replied to yet, I am aware of. There is, of course, that wonderful benefit of people pairing up/marrying into different cultures. As usual, trust the motherland, there is a word for it: “Voelkerverstaendigung” (both the oe and ae are to be read as Umlaute – but you know that). Yes, Voelkerverstaendigung. When different nations (try to) understand each other and live side by side. Borders, whether physical or cultural ones, need to be overcome. Even food manages it by that sometimes questionable but nevertheless interesting concept of “fusion cuisine”.

            To have, like you do, a Trump supporter in the midst of your family I imagine leads to glossing over the issue when sitting round the dinner table sharing bread. By way of anecdote, and might give you an amusing glimpse into the workings of the motherland, there were (most likely still are) two questions you’d never ask in polite company: How much do you earn? How do you intend to/did you vote? No joke. I wouldn’t dream to ask anyone of my original contingent. Not even my siblings. It’s private as private goes. To some extent it’s a matter of good taste, and most certainly avoids friction. I myself make no secret of any political opinion. As to how much I earn you’ll know when I ask you for a fiver. Insert smiley.

            You mention “current lawless invasion”. Maybe my perception is wrong, and I am by no means up to date with the exact workings in the States (such a big country, nay, continent) but from all I know the USA are a fortress. The devil’s own job to get into. And discourteous too. I know this from the Angel who, travels – on average once a year – with his father (British) and his father’s wife (American) to spend an innocent fortnight in your neck of the woods. Oh dear. The Angel is not given to exaggerating but according to his account border control your side is something else.

            To summon up on a subject which is virtually impossible to nail down::

            Once upon a time a deaf man called Beethoven set music to Schiller’s “Ode of joy” – Alle Menschen werden Brueder … I suppose better to be disappointed than to give up hope.

            Affectionately,
            U

            Comment by bitchontheblog — June 29, 2016 @ 11:24 | Reply

            • ” Maybe my perception is wrong, and I am by no means up to date with the exact workings in the States (such a big country, nay, continent) but from all I know the USA are a fortress. The devil’s own job to get into. And discourteous too.”

              It is a schizophrenic situation. I call it “totalitarian anarchy”. If the angel overstayed his visa, nothing would happen. (I know a few personally who have.) If you walk across the southern border the border patrol is required to give you food, water and help you on your way. There is a welfare system awaiting.

              Comment by Looney — June 29, 2016 @ 13:07 | Reply

  3. I have been unable to reply to your posts for quite some time – not sure why

    Comment by Chuck McConvey — June 27, 2016 @ 16:12 | Reply

    • Happy to hear from you, Chuck. I thought you had lost interest before it was properly ignited. I don’t know why there seems to be an intermittent problem. I have checked all of my wordpress settings and as I don’t block anyone or anything no one should be kept from going through the gate. Please do keep trying. Otherwise just email any wise or other words you do offer and I can always copy and paste you over to here to join into discussion when it offers itself.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 28, 2016 @ 05:43 | Reply

      • Lets try again – I see logic on both sides of the equation. AS Britain is one of the largest economies in the world, they should beable to go it alone. And I can see the logicin wanting to have control over the type and number of immigrants that enter the country. I suppose but a Republic of 50 states isnot the same as a union of sovereign nations.the US is so vast and varied there are things I take for granted – can this be so simple as an older generation not wanting to give up their sovereignty after all they lost in WWII???

        Comment by shackman — June 30, 2016 @ 20:33 | Reply

        • Shackman, it’s not about “going it alone”. We all can [go it alone] if need be, more or less successfully. I am no mathematician but, surely, there is more force, indeed a desired result more likely, when efforts are joined and combined?

          As to immigration. The British (forgive my gross generalization) tend towards hysteria in any sphere of public life. A a layman of history I can’t help thinking this goes back to the EMPIRE. It’s quite fantastic when you think about it. There they were CONQUERING, subjecting swathes of the world, the foreign, to their supremacy. Then, of course (Ramana and the Angel may call it Karma) a few decades ago the hens came home to roost. Thus England (or at least the hotpotches of bigger cities) became that most vibrant multicultural society it is. A true joy. I set foot out of the house, go to a German supermarket here at the South coast of England and think I am part of the United Nations. Makes my heart sing.

          It’s complicated, Chuck.The Referendum was hijacked by many different factions. Some made it about (European) migrants, some made it about refugees, some ballooned the EU’s bureaucracy, a lot (I dare say) didn’t have a clue what it was about. I hate to say it but as sure as hell there is that spanner in the works, namely the lowest common denominator.

          The States? Oh, Chuck, many a heart sinks over here at the thought of Trump at the helm. Leaving aside that it’ll be the pits to have his visage in the daily news for years to come, the prospect is frightening. Clinton, whatever her sins, is measured. Sometimes we just have to weigh who is more likely to cause havoc in the playground.

          As an aside: Yes, your country is vast. For a European almost unimaginably so.

          To be continued …

          U

          Comment by bitchontheblog — July 1, 2016 @ 15:01 | Reply

  4. Like you, I have been glued to anything and everything I could find on Brexit. And that not only on this side of the (new) great divide but also Germany and France. There is a wonderful comment, originally found in the Guardian, has since been publicised by HuffPost UK and has subsequently gone viral. In Germany and France too and, for all I know, elsewhere in the EU and the USA.

    At first, I was utterly shattered. Now I’m full of Schadenfreude. Who is going to lift the poisoned chalice that Cameron has handed Johnson and the rest of the Brexiters and implement Clause 50? Who is going to shovel the sh.t? And explain the repercussions to Joe Public? And if they shirk the responsibilities Joe Public will finish them off anyway.

    Comment by Friko — June 27, 2016 @ 16:22 | Reply

    • Friko, good to hear from you. Thought of you many a time during the last few days – not quite sure whether to pick up the phone. Us discussing the malaise in real time we might have drowned in our joint sorrow. Health and Safety first. Still, as expected and it makes me smile, you managed to turn being “utterly shattered” into the safety valve of “Schadenfreude”. I don’t like Schadenfreude. The very concept makes me shudder. However, I will concede that in this case a banana skin does have its uses.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 28, 2016 @ 05:27 | Reply

  5. One more quote from the editor of Le Monde:

    Brexit is like a death sentence without a hangman. Nobody wants to execute the sentence, neither Cameron nor Johnson.

    Comment by Friko — June 27, 2016 @ 16:24 | Reply

    • Nice one, Friko.

      Yes, It’ll be the devil’s own job. My compassion limited since “Suppe eingebrockt, jetzt ausloeffeln” does come to mind. No wonder, Osborne – as I have just read – doesn’t wish to enter the race. It’s one thing to be sick all over the place before you reach a loo’s receptacle, it’s another to clean up the mess.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 28, 2016 @ 05:35 | Reply

  6. While in utter dismay at what is happening in Britain I am selfishly concerned with the rather pitiful circumstances of financial collapse in my own province which will indebt its citizens for generations and keep me, a woman of advanced years, working for a crust until I drop. I raise you one bleakness.
    XO
    WWW

    Comment by wisewebwoman — June 27, 2016 @ 23:12 | Reply

    • My dear WWW, there is nothing “selfish” about tending to your own concerns first. That which is closest to us will grab our attention first. That which has an immediate impact on us will give us more concern than a tsunami thousands of miles away.

      Yes, you have raised the stakes. Made me smile. Mind you, not that that is any comfort for you, but I too will be “working … until I drop”. Luckily I don’t mind. I trust neither brain nor bones will calcify to render me incapable.

      Apropos of nothing: That line “Don’t worry, be happy” irritates the hell out of me. It’s not always in our remit to not worry. Neither is worry and being happy mutually exclusive.

      Hug,
      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — June 28, 2016 @ 05:08 | Reply

  7. U, how long does it take to drive from Reading to your general vicinity?

    Comment by Looney — June 29, 2016 @ 13:09 | Reply

    • Only ever a stone throw. Which, in my case, since I am rubbish at throwing, is close by.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — July 1, 2016 @ 14:33 | Reply

  8. I haven’t commented because I don’t live in that part of the world…and even though the backwash will finally arrive here, by then something else will have occurred political or other-wise…

    Comment by cedar51 — July 1, 2016 @ 04:40 | Reply

    • It’s ok, Catherine. You know how it is. You are overcome (emotionally) and wait for the world to stand by with a shoulder to cry on, water to dilute vitriol, and generally be of use to you.

      Anyway, I am a fine one to talk. It’s hardly as if I can and do fire fight in several places at once. One tries till you run out of water.

      Hug,
      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — July 1, 2016 @ 14:31 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

