Bitch on the Blog

July 12, 2017

Expansive

One of the fairies at my cradle made sure that I’d never be bored.

Her intention was good. In practice it brings problems. None of which can’t be solved; but problems nevertheless. The main one being that I waste (how does one define “waste”?) on wastes of space. I do I do I do. Because I never give up. And if there is one adage I cling to like a calf following her mother’s udder it’s that only the boring are bored. That way you dig your own bore.

Be still, my beating heart.

In the motherland there is a saying, and I have no idea what it means but it sounds good: Den inneren Schweinehund ueberwinden. Roughly translated: To overcome your inner swine (where the dog comes into it I do not know). It’s taking me forever (the present continuous wisely chosen) to overcome my swine’s dog – but, I am getting there. With regret, I shall concede that some in blogland (no, not ye, my faithfuls) will bore. Even me. Actually, that’s not true at all. The more boring the more amusing and interesting they are. In a sort of forensic research type of way.

Hugs and hisses,

U

5 Comments »

  1. Now you have me trying to remember back to Søren Kierkegaard’s babbling about all men being bores and trying to develop a philosophical system based on that principle. Unfortunately the work was a translation and it was hard for me to determine which of the several English meanings of “bore” he intended. I lost interest after a page or two of reading and still wonder if I missed something by not reading on. Clearly the subject of boredom is worth a few doctoral dissertations.

    Comment by Looney — July 13, 2017 @ 04:10 | Reply

    • Try, and it’s a rather alarming title, “The Sickness Unto Death”. The German title “Die Krankheit zum Tode” sounding (to me) more lush, more poetic, reminiscent of Davos/Switzerland and not so much smoke over troubled waters as the ghostly cough of tuberculosis.

      You, Looney, losing interest “after a page or two”? I don’t believe a word of it. If anything I’d guess that the more impenetrable a subject proves to be the more it piques your interest. To put it another way: If you were a dog you’d find that bone – regardless, no obstacle too daunting, no effort spared.

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — July 13, 2017 @ 12:22 | Reply

      • OK, so maybe I encountered the book at someone else’s house and only had a chance to read a few pages before leaving.

        Comment by Looney — July 15, 2017 @ 02:09 | Reply

  2. Go ahead and call me a bore. I wouldn’t mind. As long as I am also amusing and interesting as you claim. Quite how that is possible however beats me.

    Comment by rummuser — July 13, 2017 @ 10:39 | Reply

    • My dear dear Ramana, on your head be it. You have just given me theeeeeeeeeeeee most ghastly blogging idea. I shall live up to the “bitch” part of my blog yet. I can almost taste the joy it’ll give me. And the writhing pain of those it’s directed at. We’ll see. I need to think about the format before raising my life insurance premium.

      Who it’s directed at? Ninnies (none of them, on the whole, comment here). That’s who. People who do need to snap out of a life time of chips on shoulders. People who, at the age they are (mid fifties to end sixties), should have grown some dignity in their dealings with others (and themselves). If they have any spirit I will be under fire by return of post. They pride themselves on their playfulness, their sense of humour – well, let’s see if I can tease it out; at least give them an opportunity to prove they are not damp squibs. Being of a generous disposition, I will not charge for shining some light onto their cornered minds. Please bear with me, Ramana. My idea (fathered by you) is in its embryonic if enthusiastic stage. Let’s hope it won’t spontaneously abort. Oh the fun we, well I, would miss.

      Call YOU, Ramana, “a bore”? Never. Obviously, we don’t share all interests but that doesn’t make someone boring. Boring are people who, well, bore. And if the only thing they bore is a hole then they should thank their lucky stars. Ask Looney. He knows all about “whole” and might consider contemplating how to make a hole whole considering that one thing a hole needs to be is self contained and happy with nothing other than the borders that makes them a hole. He may even take up Kierkegaard again.

      Wittgenstein greetings (him with the poker),

      U

      Comment by bitchontheblog — July 13, 2017 @ 12:24 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

